CUSID Nationals 2009-2010: A View To McGill

McGill University dominated the 2009-2010 CUSID National Championship, held March 19th-21st at the University of Alberta. Vinay Kumar Mysore and Sophie MacIntyre defeated Saro Setrakian and Sean Stefanik in an all-McGill final round, while McGill’s John Clarke and Tim Abdulla narrowly lost a contentious Novice final round to Deirdre Casey and Sam Greene, representing the Hart House Debating Club from the University of Toronto.

Semifinals were contested by Jake Liang and Bryce Balcom (McGill) and Rudi M. Lof and R. Brent Kettles (Osgoode Hall), and McGill (W. Calvin Rosemond and Joeseph Bricker), Dalhousie (Ali Cherri and Max Rau), UBC (Evan Choate and Joshua Sealy-Harrington) and Toronto (John Ashbourne and George Trotter) finished as Quarterfinalists.

Mr. Stefanik was top speaker, Mr. Abdulla was top novice speaker, and Christopher McMillan from Calgary was crowned best public speaker.

Posted in Points of Information.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *